Skip to content

Border Wars

Since 2016 Border Wars is the OG of Midwest Senior Box Tourneys

Border Wars

Welcome to the Border Wars box tournament! As the original Midwest Senior Box Tourney founded in 2015, we are excited to continue our tradition of competitive box lacrosse. Our tournament began in Indianapolis in the historic Irvington neighborhood at the Ellenberger Ice rink, and we have since moved to Cincinnati, where we proudly call it our home. We offer a unique and exciting experience for lacrosse players, providing a fast-paced game with tight spaces and intense physicality. Whether you are a seasoned veteran or a newcomer to the sport, we welcome all players to join us in the ultimate competition. So, if you are ready to join us in our quest for victory, come and experience the thrill of Border Wars box tournament now!

Register Here & Player Waivers2023 Schedule

Border Wars: December 16-17, 2023

Location: Queen City Sportsplex 10765 Reading Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45241

Level: Senior A/B

Game Times: 
Saturday – 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
Sunday – 9am to 3pm.
Eastern Time Zone.  Doors open 30 min prior to the first start time.

Divisions: Senior A/B

Format: We will play real box with NLL Rules,  Each team will be guaranteed 4 games. Games will run from 9 am to 10 pm on Saturday and 9 am to approximately 4 pm on Sunday.  Sunday will feature consolation and the championship games.  Bearpaw customizes its bracket creation based on placement calls with program directors.

Fee: $1699 per team.
$250 deposit due upon registration / Balance is due October 1st, 2023.  Contact us for multi-team discounts.  Failure to meet the final payment deadline will constitute non-acceptance of the tournament registration and a forfeiture of the tournament spot and deposit fee.


Updated Schedule -12/7/2022@3:39pm est

All Players must have a current waiver on file before stepping on the floor. Go here and chose your team when filling out the waiver.—2023


  • NLL Rules with the following amendments


  • Games will be three 13 min periods.  2 min breaks and 5 min to warm up before games.
  • Each team will get one 30-second time-out per game. Time-outs stop all clocks. No time outs in the last 2 minutes.
  • Stop time the last 2 min if teams are within 3 goals.   If we enter the last 2 min stop time it will stay stop time.
  • Overtime will be a sudden victory with no timeouts.
  • Pool play games will be one 4 min 4 v 4 followed by a 3 man shootout.  If still tied each team will send one player out until a winner is declared.
  • Championship/Consolation games will be a 10 min 5 v 5 until a winner is declared.
  • Fighting is not allowed.  Fighting may result in expulsion from the tournament.
  • Clearing will be 10 seconds.
  • Players may only play for one team.  Any player that plays for more than 1 team will make those teams ineligible for the playoffs or championship and the games they played on will be forfeited.
  • Forfeited games will be entered with a score of 10-0 and the forfeiting team will be ineligible for the playoffs/championship.

Welcome to the Border Wars box tournament!  This box tourney started in Historic Irvington at the Ellenberger Ice rink aka “The Barn” in January of 2016.  The Barn was an old ice rink that was used by the Indianapolis Checkers, who have since relocated to Colorado.  While in Indy the Checkers were part of the New York Islanders during their Stanley Cup dynasty.   Now new dynasties are being formed and toppled in the Border Wars!

Past Teams & Results

2023 Champion – TBD

2022 Champion – Detroit Hooligans
Runner Up – Columbus Coyotes

2021 Champion – Cincinnati Flying Pigs
Runner Up – Ohio Coyotes

2020 Champion – Milwaukee Muskies
Runner Up – Circle City Cross Checkers

2019 Champion – Cincinnati Winter Flying Pigs 
Runner Up – Cleveland Daemons

2018 Champions –Cincinnati Winter Flying Pigs 
Runner Up – Kenards

2017 Champion – Cincinnati Winter Flying Pigs 
Runner Up – Cleveland Daemons

2016 Champion – Resolute
Runner Up – Letter Kenny

2015 Champion – Beaver Kings
Runner Up – Cleveland Daemons